IDEA Grants: Promoting Inclusion, Diversity, Equity, and Access

In March 2011, the Office of the Executive Vice President and Provost awarded $133,000 from the Minority Recruitment and Retention Fund to sixteen proposals that will increase inclusion, diversity, equity, and access (IDEA) at NMSU. These proposals promote projects that further the recruitment and retention of an increasingly diverse academic workforce and student body on the Las Cruces campus.

The following grants have been awarded for the 2010–2011 academic year

  • Black History Month Speaker, to Festus Addo-Yobo
  • Research, Pedagogy, and Other Institutional Practices: An Interdisciplinary Dialogue on Diversity in Higher Education, to Vickie Aldrich, Azadeh Osanloo, Julie Steinkopf Rice, Monica Torres, Judith Weisinger
  • American Indian Student Center, to Justin McHorse
  • Native American Students Use Participatory Action Research to Identify Cultural Sources of Strengths to Reinforce Persistence and Reduce Attrition in Higher Education, to Don Pepion
  • An Education Program Towards a Sustainable Future in Renewable Bio-Materials, to Delia Valles-Rosales
  • Retention Event for Women in Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM) Disciplines at NMSU, to Martha Mitchell, Sonya Cooper, Delia Valles-Rosales, Ricardo Jacquez, and Michele Auzenne
  • NMSU Gospel Choir, to Bobbie Green
  • GLBTQ Initiatives, to Sharna Horn
  • Heather Fleming visit, Indian Resource Development, to Joe Graham
  • MESA Student NMSU Conference, to Monica Blea
  • Leveraging Technology and Best Practices in an Effort to Practice Diversity in Online Courses, to Sharon Lalla

These grants were awarded for the 2011–2012 academic year

  • Hispanic Heritage Month Retention Event for Fall 2011,to Laura Gutierrez Spencer
  • Freshman Ambassador Program, Chicano Programs, to Laura Gutierrez Spencer
  • Lecture Series: Why Does Diversity Matter? to Dulcinea Lara, Marisol Ruiz, Anita Hernandez, and Antonio Lara
  • NMSU College of Engineering and Division of Student Success Mentoring & Academic Support for Integrated Learning Communities, to Ricardo Jacquez, Michele Auzenne, and Terry Cook
  • 2011 Leadership Summit, to Mari Tellez

Proposals were reviewed by the IDEA Grant Review Committee, and funding recommendations were made to the Executive Vice President/Provost. Committee members included representatives from the Diversity Council, the Faculty Senate, the Employee Council and ASNMSU.

This entry was posted in News. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.