Skip to main content

Faculty Compensation Studies

In concert with its Strategic Plan, LEADS 2025, Goal 4 – Build a Robust University System, NMSU continuously seeks to undertake process improvements leading to incorporation of best practices in its day-to-day operations. Ensuring NMSU has appropriate policies and procedures in place to guide faculty compensation practices is a Goal 4 priority of Provost Carol Parker, and HRS Assistant Vice President, Gena Jones.  

Such goals require periodic review and refinement of policies and procedures, as well as regular, systematic analysis of the outcomes of NMSU’s compensation policies and practices.  Conducting regular and transparent external market and internal equity reviews, and validating internal compensation data, are best practices that should be part of our standard operating procedures, and are concrete ways to demonstrate NMSU’s commitment to faculty equity and excellence, together with articulating bench-marks for improvement, and a specific plan for prioritizing funds to fill any identified compensation gaps, will help NMSU attract and retain excellent faculty members. NMSU will seek in this indeavor to provide competitive salaries, recognizing that ongoing and strategically targeted funding will play an important role in reaching that goal. Any strategic compensation plans will be subject to funding availability and budget approval by the Board of Regents. 

Through these efforts, NMSU will seek to ensure the following outcomes with respect to its faculty compensation rates:

  • Incentivize, recognize and reward faculty work which is aligned with and advances NMSU’s mission and strategic goals;
  • Support recruitment and retention of the most accomplished faculty possible to ensure that NMSU remains academically strong and competitive; and
  • Ensure all faculty receive comparable compensation for comparable contributions to NMSU’s mission, including women, under-represented groups and other protected classes.

FY2020-2021 Initiatives

In Fall Semester 2020, Provost Parker and Dr. Jones launched an initiative to review current policies and practices to identify potential areas for improvement.  In addition, to help alleviate concerns about potential salary inequities or uncompetitive salaries at NMSU, two studies of the base salary compensation rates of main campus faculty members with regular appointments will be conducted:


Study #1

Internal Analysis of NMSU’s FY2020-2021 compensation rates to determine whether all faculty are receiving comparable pay for comparable work. Any shortfall in predicted salaries of faculty attributable to gender, race or ethnicity, no matter how small, is unacceptable and NMSU must take appropriate steps to remedy them.

Study #2

External Comparison of NMSU’s FY2020-2021 compensation rates with those of other similar public research universities to ascertain whether NMSU’s current faculty salaries a competitive in the marketplace—an important consideration in NMSU’s ability to recruit and retain faculty.

Steering Committee

These projects will be supported by a Steering Committee consisting of the individuals in the following table. The Committee members have signed an agreement pledging to keep the project information confidential and not to use any of the compensation information provided to them for any purpose other than what is intended for this project.

 Steering Committee Charge Letter


Steering Committee Membership
Name Title College
Laura Madson (Co-Chair) Professor Arts & Sciences
Justin MacDonald (Co-Chair) Associate Professor Arts & Sciences
Gaylene Fasenko Professor Agriculture, Environmental & Consumer Sciences
Martha Mitchell Professor Engineering
Iván De La Rosa Associate Professor Health & Social Services
Delia Valles-Rosales Associate Professor Engineering
Carol Flinchbaugh Associate Professor Business
Huiping Cao Associate Professor Arts and Sciences
Michael Kalkbrenner Assistant Professor Education
Henrietta Pichon Interim Dean Education
Joe Tomaka Professor Health and Social Services
Rolston St. Hilaire Academic Department Head Agriculture, Environmental & Consumer Sciences
Charlotte Gard Associate Professor Business
Tonghui Wang Professor Arts & Sciences
Jeanette Haynes Writer Professor Education
Dawn VanLeeuwen Professor Business
Manal Hamzeh Professor Arts & Sciences
Marshall Taylor Assistant Professor Arts & Sciences
Name Title College

For more information, please contact Dr. Laura Madson, committee co-chair at 

Faculty Town Hall

Members of the Steering Committee joined Provost Parker, Faculty Senate Chair Julia Parra and Assistant Vice President Gena Jones (HRS) on December 4, 2020 for a Facult Town Hall. You can view the recording below. 

View the Recording